loader

Daily Briefs


Photo :

01 March 2020, Sunday

Pakistan is upbeat about the US-Taliban deal in Doha



The Middle Class has no role in politics: Karachi Literature Festival; Two more cases of coronavirus confirmed in Pakistan

PR Daily Brief | PR Team

Main Story
Pakistan is upbeat about the US-Taliban deal in Doha
D. Suba Chandran

What happened?
On the deal that was just concluded in Doha between the US and the Taliban, Imran Khan tweeted: “We welcome the Doha Accord signed between the US and the Taliban. This is the start of a peace and reconciliation process to end decades of war and suffering of the Afghan people. I have always maintained that a political solution, no matter how complex, is the only meaningful path to peace.” One could sense, that Pakistan is extremely upbeat about the deal.

Why is Pakistan upbeat about the deal?
From the beginning, Pakistan has been insisting that the Taliban is a part of the solution in Afghanistan and not a problem. Islamabad was also against any military approach vis-à-vis the Taliban. The reason is simple – Pakistan even today consider the Taliban as their boys. 

Second, the deal recognizes and even legitimizes the Taliban as a central player in deciding the future of Afghanistan. Pakistan does not trust the elected leadership in Kabul. Despite the initial attempts at rapprochement, the Karzai and Ghani governments ended up increasing the political distance between Islamabad and Kabul.

Third, Islamabad would want the return of the Taliban to power in Kabul. It would also reduce the Indian influence in Afghanistan; the Karzai and Ghani governments have increased the Indo-Afghan partnership, much to the dismay of Pakistan.

Fourth, the deal would also pave the way for the exit of American soldiers from Afghanistan. Pakistan has always been wary of the presence of American troops in Afghanistan, for it upset the Pakistan-Taliban relationship. There have been instances in which the Afghan troops either led by or with support from the Americans, militarily responded to Pakistan across the Durand Line. An American exit means that Pakistan would have an upper hand across the Durand Line.

What is the background?
Pakistan has been the chief patron of the Taliban. It was one of the few countries to recognize the Taliban regime in the 1990s. 

Since 9/11, Pakistan attempted to play the role of a mediator between the US and the Taliban. Post-Musharraf period, Pakistan lost the edge, as the US took on the Taliban militarily. Subsequently, the US under Zalmay Khalilzad initiated a dialogue, sidelining Islamabad.

Pakistan tried to remain relevant through the Quadrilateral Coordination Group, that comprised of Afghanistan, China and the United States. The QCG met multiple times until Khalizad initiated the Doha dialogue directly with the Taliban. Islamabad was initially upset with the sidelining, and tried influence the Taliban from not taking part in it. 

Later, Khalilzad made a few visits to Islamabad to appraise the Doha process, though he did not bring Pakistan directly to the negotiating table.


Short Note
The Middle Class has no role in politics: Karachi Literature Festival
Lakshmi V Menon
The News International (1 March 2020), reported about the 11th edition of the Karachi Literature Festival held on 29 February 2020. While addressing a session titled ‘The Political Character of Pakistani Middle Class’, economist Asad Sayeed said that Pakistan’s middle class remains divergent in the tussles between the elite and the lower classes of the society. “First of all, they have to stand united” he remarked.

According to the News, Senior journalist Salahuddin claimed that “the middle class (utilised and suppressed by power pockets) lacks the capacity to bring about societal change”. “Intellectual deprivation in the middle class is alarming” he added.  Furthermore, he spoke of their inability to play a noteworthy political role due to the Pakistani elite’s influence and said that striving to bring about societal transformation is more important than fighting classism. Dr Huma Baqai, associate dean of Institute of Business Administration accused the authorities of creating hindrances for the upliftment of women and youth who campaign for change while addressing their labours to dismiss the Aurat and Student Solidarity marches as failures. She added that the state’s economic condition has weakened the once strong middle class.

Middle class reverberates its political voice through social media platforms. However, a budding ‘meritocratic’ elite or professional upper class is weighing down on the burgeoning middle class. 

Short Note
Two more cases of coronavirus confirmed in Pakistan
Abigail Miriam Fernandez
On 29 February 2020, two more cases of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) have been confirmed, one in Islamabad and the other in Karachi. This makes it a total of four people that are being treated for COVID-19 in Pakistan. At a joint press conference, the PM’s Special Assistant on National Health Services Dr Zafar Mirza addressed the issue and stated that the patients are being handled according to clinical protocols and that all measures are being taken to address any concerns. Further, he assured that surveillance on Ports of Entry would be reinforced so that a person having COVID-2019 can be identified and quarantined there itself. He also added that a committee with representatives from the ministries of Health and Information, as well as ISPR, will be constituted to launch a national awareness campaign on COVID-19 (The News).

The virus has spread rapidly across the world and to new zones in recent days, reaching nine new countries including Azerbaijan, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, and the United States.  
 

Other Daily Briefs

17 October 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.161

PDM's first rally takes off to a great start in Gujranwala

16 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.160

PDM's first rally set to take off

15 October 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.159

Pakistan's pre-conditions for a dialogue with India

14 October 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.158

Pakistan re-elected to the UNHRC

13 October 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.157

Pakistan and the FATF's Grey List

12 October 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.156

Maulana Adil Khan laid to rest in Karachi

09 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.154

Khalilzad in Pakistan to discuss Afghan peace

08 October 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.153

Pakistan to experience muted economic recovery

07 October 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.152

20-point 'code of conduct' to promote sectarian harmony

06 October 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.151

A five-year development programme for the Gilgit- Baltistan

05 October 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.150

The next FATF meeting on Pakistan

02 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.148

Targeting Nawaz Sharif and the PML-N

01 October 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.147

On Pakistan Democratic Movement's rally:

30 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.146

PM Imran Khan wants to bring back Nawaz Sharif at the earliest:

29 September 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.145

Shahbaz Sharif's arrest causes an upheavel:

28 September 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.144

Abdullah Abdullah in Pakistan for a three days visit:

25 September 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.142

The Fallouts of the All Parties Conference:

24 September 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.141

Establishment and the PML-N:

23 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.140

For the US, the priority in Pakistan is to advance human rights :

22 September 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.139

One day after the All Parties Conference:

21 September 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.138

Nawaz Sharif goes on an offensive and talks about

19 September 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.137

Kashmir will be the focus of PM Khan’s UN address, says FO

18 September 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.136

Pakistan’s Persisting Polio Problem:

17 September 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.135

The need for a twin strategy in south Balochistan:

16 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.134

A non-bailable arrest warrant for Nawaz Sharif:

15 September 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.133

The CPEC march continues:

11 September 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.130

Pakistan and the SCO

10 September 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.129

Accountability Court declares Nawaz Sharif as an absconder

09 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.128

Federal-Provincial divide over Karachi increases

07 September 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.126

On Karachi, PPP and PTI divide comes to open

05 September 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.125

Kashmir in the UN and Pakistan

02 September, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.122

Court directs Nawaz Sharif to appear before the court

01 September, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.121

Rains and Floods continue to haunt Pakistan

27 August 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.117

An article speculates the Opposition’s options and strategies

26 August 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.116

"General Bajwa stabilized Pak-Saudi ties"

24 August 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.114

Pakistan, China and J&K

22 August 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.113

Pakistan and China pledge to safeguard common interests

20 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.111

The tragedy of Scientists from Pakistan's minority communities

19 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.110

"Pakistan can never recognise Israel," says Imran Khan

18 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.109

PTI's two-year report card

15 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.107

Pakistan's Palestine Dilemma

14 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.106

Pakistan at 73: Celebrating the Independence Day

13 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.105

COAS Gen Bajwa to visit Saudi Arabia soon

12 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.104

Government and opposition agree on six FATF bills

10 August 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.102

The FATF divides within Pakistan

09 August 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.101

Pakistan This Week

08 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.100

National Assembly clears two FATF bills, but blocks one.

07 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.99

Govt decides to lift restrictions as COVID cases decline

06 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.98

Pakistan's continuing Kashmir frenzy

05 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.97

Pakistan's new Map of J&K

04 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.96

Kashmir obsession in Pakistan

31 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.94

Two FATF bills passed in the National Assembly

30 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.93

Religiosity in Pakistan: From Creeping to now Galloping

29 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.92

Opposition parties attempt to come together

28 July 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.91

Pakistan's internal debate on Kulbhushan Jadav

26 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.89

Pakistan This Week

23 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.86

On the abduction of a Journalist in Islamabad

19 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.82

Pakistan This Week

17 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.80

The licences are not fake but only dubious

16 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.79

On building Diamer-Bhasha dam in Gilgit-Baltistan

15 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.78

On Af-Pak Transit Trade

12 July 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No. 75

Pakistan This Week

11 July 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.74

FATF action plan to be completed at the earliest: Shaikh

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao