loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : The Express Tribune

8 March 2020, Sunday

Cyber crimes against women in Pakistan



PR Daily Brief | Lakshmi V Menon

As of January 2020, Pakistan has 76.38 million internet users with 37million of them being active social media users. (Digital 2020 reports, 30 January 2020) Cyber presence is increasing, and so are cybercrimes. Gender-based interpersonal cybercrime causing gender-based violence including physical, sexual and/or emotional harm is rising in Pakistan. Women face blackmailing, cyber-harassment, cyberstalking, cyberbullying, non-consensual distribution and use of compromising intimate videos, images and/or doctored images.

A Pakistani advocacy and research NGO, the Digital Rights Foundation (DRF) shared noteworthy statistical data regarding Pakistani women and cyberspace in their latest report. First, 72 per cent of women are unaware of cyber harassment laws in Pakistan. Second, 70 per cent women are scared to post their images online. Third, 47 per cent of women consider reporting cyber-harassment and cyber-crimes unnecessary. Fourth, 45 per cent of women consider reporting online harassment an embarrassment. Fifth, 40 per cent of all Pakistani women using the internet, are victims to cyberstalking and harassment via messaging apps. (The Express Tribune, 8 March 2020)

DRF executive director Nighat Dad told The Express Tribune that for cyberspace victims in Pakistan DRF had set up a Cyber Harassment Helpline (0800-39393) which would provide “legal advice, psychological counselling, digital security support and a referral system”. Nighat explained that due to social stigma, family restrictions, societal pressures, lack of trust in authorities, time-consuming investigative procedures, increasing threats from harassers and doubts regarding implementation of corresponding laws many crimes go unreported. Meanwhile, digital illiteracy regarding security systems, online platforms and privacy settings add to the vulnerability women face in the cyberspace.

Pakistan’s Prevention of Electronic Crimes Act, 2016, alone guarantees austere reprimands for cyber-crimes. Supreme Court Advocate Rabeeya Bajwa detailed additional laws such as Articles 14 and 19 of the Constitution (Art 14 - which speaks of state’s responsibility to protect dignity of individuals; Art 19 which awards freedom of speech and expression), and Law of Defamation, that could be utilized depending on the nature of the crimes.

However, the disproportionality between rate of convictions and reporting is appalling. As per a report by the Senate Standing Committee on Information Technology, only 32 out of 56,000 filed complaints were under investigation. The committee blamed the FIA and Pakistan Telecommunication Authority. (The Express Tribune, 8 March 2020)

The article from Tribune comes in the wake of the Aurat March, observing International Women’s Day, happening amid discordant gender inequality debates. The “Mera Jism Meri Marzi” (My body, my choice), a bold Urdu slogan has triggered criticism. Federal Information Minister Firdous Ashiq Awan has said that the march misleads Pakistani women. Former Prime Minister and vice president of PML-N said the march’s slogan by creating an incorrect “impression” has failed to highlight relevant issues. The spiteful live discourse between Khalil Qamar, a famous play writer and Marvi Sirmed, an activist aired on 4 March by Neo News is fuelling the ongoing debate.

Other Daily Briefs

14 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.106

Pakistan at 73: Celebrating the Independence Day

13 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.105

COAS Gen Bajwa to visit Saudi Arabia soon

12 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.104

Government and opposition agree on six FATF bills

10 August 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.102

The FATF divides within Pakistan

09 August 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.101

Pakistan This Week

08 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.100

National Assembly clears two FATF bills, but blocks one.

07 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.99

Govt decides to lift restrictions as COVID cases decline

06 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.98

Pakistan's continuing Kashmir frenzy

05 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.97

Pakistan's new Map of J&K

04 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.96

Kashmir obsession in Pakistan

31 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.94

Two FATF bills passed in the National Assembly

30 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.93

Religiosity in Pakistan: From Creeping to now Galloping

29 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.92

Opposition parties attempt to come together

28 July 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.91

Pakistan's internal debate on Kulbhushan Jadav

26 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.89

Pakistan This Week

23 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.86

On the abduction of a Journalist in Islamabad

19 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.82

Pakistan This Week

17 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.80

The licences are not fake but only dubious

16 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.79

On building Diamer-Bhasha dam in Gilgit-Baltistan

15 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.78

On Af-Pak Transit Trade

12 July 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No. 75

Pakistan This Week

11 July 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.74

FATF action plan to be completed at the earliest: Shaikh

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao