loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

15 March 2020, Sunday

COVID-19 and Pakistan: Closing down educational institutions and social gatherings



PR Daily Brief | Lakshmi V Menon

The National Coordination Committee (NCC) was set up by the National Security Committee (NSC) on 13 March, to grapple with the coronavirus outbreak in Pakistan via day-to-day analysis methods. (The News International, 14 March 2020)

NCC is a high-level body with the ability to take coordinated efforts to implement unanimous national-level decisions regarding the pandemic. National Disaster Management Authority would lead the efforts and dispense required funds. NCC would be convened by Directorate of Military Operations and consist of chief ministers, federal ministers, Surgeon General of Pakistan, NDMA chairman, and representatives of Inter Services Public Relations and Inter-Services Intelligence. 

NCC, chaired by PM Imran Khan, made significant decisions. First, the shutdown of educational institutions for three weeks. Second, ban on social or public gatherings for two weeks. Third, shutdown of all airports except Lahore, Islamabad and Karachi for international travel and complete closure of Pakistan’s western border with Afghanistan and Iran for two weeks “in the best interest of all three brotherly countries”. To safeguard trade, seaports will continue to operate with heightened screening and surveillance facilities. Fourth, the cancelation of Pakistan Parade Day.

As per SAPM on Health Dr. Zafar Mirza’s statement to the media, NSC appraised the coronavirus situation while resolving to ensure public health and safety. He confirmed 28 cases (now 30) and mentioned seven newly emerging cases in Taftan. He also requested civil courts to suspend hearings for three weeks, and sessions courts and judicial magistrates to decide on remands and bails.

On 13 March, wide-ranging noteworthy developments occurred. First, federal Education Minister Shafqat Mahmood tweeted that universities, colleges, schools, and madrassas would remain suspended till April 5. Punjab government followed. Previously, Sindh province and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa had announced a similar shutdown till May 30 and May 15 respectively.  Second, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the decision to cut short Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020. The final match would be held on 18 March instead of 23 March.  Third, Islamabad High Court sought federal government’s report on bringing back Pakistani students from China by March 20. Explaining that Pakistani students in China were being provided with all medical care and assistance, Shafqat Mahmood, Minister for Federal Education and Professional Training, said the decision to not bring them back to Pakistan was in the country’s best interest.
Fourth, Dr. Irfan Tahir, Director of Central Health Establishment (CHE) said all immigrants were undergoing temperature screening and thermal scanning at airports. Over a million travelers were already screened, he added. 

Meanwhile, opposition MPs of National Assembly have called for a joint session of Parliament to discuss and deliberate the adopted anti-virus steps; Sindh minister Syed Nasir Hussain Shah has offered reward for development of a COVID-19 antidote; Bangladesh has refused to send their cricket team to Pakistan for the matches scheduled to be held on April 1 and April 5; and PPP MNA Raja Pervaiz Ashraf has called for a comprehensive national awareness campaign and an emergency declaration.

Other Daily Briefs

13 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.105

COAS Gen Bajwa to visit Saudi Arabia soon

12 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.104

Government and opposition agree on six FATF bills

10 August 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.102

The FATF divides within Pakistan

09 August 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.101

Pakistan This Week

08 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.100

National Assembly clears two FATF bills, but blocks one.

07 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.99

Govt decides to lift restrictions as COVID cases decline

06 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.98

Pakistan's continuing Kashmir frenzy

05 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.97

Pakistan's new Map of J&K

04 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.96

Kashmir obsession in Pakistan

31 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.94

Two FATF bills passed in the National Assembly

30 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.93

Religiosity in Pakistan: From Creeping to now Galloping

29 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.92

Opposition parties attempt to come together

28 July 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.91

Pakistan's internal debate on Kulbhushan Jadav

26 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.89

Pakistan This Week

23 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.86

On the abduction of a Journalist in Islamabad

19 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.82

Pakistan This Week

17 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.80

The licences are not fake but only dubious

16 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.79

On building Diamer-Bhasha dam in Gilgit-Baltistan

15 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.78

On Af-Pak Transit Trade

12 July 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No. 75

Pakistan This Week

11 July 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.74

FATF action plan to be completed at the earliest: Shaikh

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao