loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : The Nation

23 March 2020, Monday

PML-N President returns to support Pakistan in the corona battle



PR Daily Brief | PR Team

PML-N President returns to support Pakistan in the corona battle

Lakshmi V Menon

Ending his four months long stay in UK with the former prime minister and his ailing brother Nawaz Sharif, Opposition leader and PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif is set to return to Pakistan on 22 March to help the nation fight the pandemic. PML-N President says the decision was made following Pakistan’s call for suspension of international flights. Punjab government and ruling PTI hailed his decision to return while voicing hope that Mr. Sharif would refrain from attempting to gain political mileage and will constructively use his power. (Dawn, 22 March 2020)

Mr. Sharif said Pakistan must prepare for a lockdown in terms of essential items and that Pakistani lives must not be jeopardized. He warned that the PTI government would be solely responsible for consequences owing to procrastination of a lockdown.

Meanwhile, Fawad Chaudhry, federal Minister for Science and Technology, advised that Mr Sharif be quarantined for 14 days upon his arrival. Previously, Mr Sharif faced criticism for his extended stay in the UK. He had left to UK in November 2019 to accompany Nawaz Sharif, who was permitted foreign travel for medical purposes, despite being convicted in the Al-Azizia corruption case.

Other Daily Briefs

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao