loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

07 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 7

Punjab-PIA bickering leaves 100 million rupees worth PPE, donated by China lying in Beijing



Independent groups working on minority and human rights reject the National Council for Minorities formed by the government.

PR Daily Brief | PR Team

Punjab's bickering with the PIA leaves 100 million rupees worth PPE, donated by China lying in Beijing airport
700 boxes of Personal Protective Equipment donated by China, worth 100 million rupees is lying at the Beijing airport. The PPE was handed over to the Pakistan embassy in Beijing, which has transported to the Airport 45 days ago. However, the boxes could not be brought to Pakistan, as Punjab government and the Pakistan International Airlines (PIA) are fighting over the freight charges. Items that were donated by China include "protective suits, surgical masks, N-95 respirators, medical gloves, disposable medical protective clothing, among others, for frontline workers including doctors, nurses, and paramedical staff." (The Express Tribune)

Independent groups working on minority and human rights reject the National Council for Minorities formed by the government.
On 5 May, the federal cabinet announced the formation of a National Council for Minorities, with representation from Hindu, Christian, Parsi and Kalash communities, but minus the Ahmadiya. Peter Jacob, the Chairman of the Peoples Commission for Minority Rights Chairman Peter Jacob, has made a statement toward challenging the Council, as it was formed by a decision based on the federal cabinet and not an act of Parliament. For him, this would be a contempt of the court and also a violation of the 2014 order by the Supreme Court. Hina Gilani, one of the founders of the HRCP and a former UN Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Human Rights Defenders has been reported to have supported the action.

Dawn says, "what often passes for 'investigation' is planted evidence, confessions under torture, etc"
In its editorial, responding to a recent verdict by Chief Justice Athar Minallah of the Islamabad High Court on reforming the criminal justice system in Pakistan, Dawn has commented on the limitation of the Courts on the issue. According to the editorial, the judges rely on the evidence presented before them, hence there is a need for a larger reform on the police investigation. It has called for "simultaneous reforms in the functioning of the police can there be any improvement in the dispensation of justice."

Targetted killings continue in North Waziristan
Five were killed in two separate firing incidents in North Waziristan. The killers remain unidentified. On 2 May, Arif Wazir, a leading figure in the PTM was gunned down in front of his house by unidentified gunmen in Waziristan. According to a news report in Dawn, "The rise in targeted killing of civilians and attacks on security forces in North Waziristan and South Waziristan districts have created fear among the local population."

Pakistan to resume limited flight operations
The minister of Aviation in Pakistan has hinted that Pakistan would resume limited domestic flight, due to the public demand. The flights would operate from four airports — Karachi, Islamabad, Lahore and Quetta. (Dawn)

Pakistan wants international cooperation in fighting the Locusts
While the Locusts have been a problem for Pakistan, its impact has increased manifold recently. It was reported earlier that 38 per cent of the Pakistani territory was breeding ground for the locust, with Balochistan facing the brunt (60 per cent), following by Sindh (25 per cent) and Punjab (15 per cent). According to a news report, the problem has aggravated now, because of an "unprecedented third generation breeding" instead of the regular two breeding seasons. (Dawn)

The National Coordination Committee to decide today about continuing with the lockdown
Chaired by the Prime Minister, the National Coordination Committee (NCC) will decide on the continuation of the lockdown. With the Prime Minister is not in favour of the lockdown, it is expected that the country would lift partially, as the business community has been complaining about the losses. The PM has earlier criticised the "elite" for favouring the lockdown.

 


Quote of the Day
"I have been warning the world about India's continuing efforts to find a pretext for a false flag operation targeting Pakistan."
Imran Khan (The News)

"There is no political hindrance in its way. The project (CPEC) is Pakistan's future as well as a tangible reality and no compromise will be made on it"
Lt-Gen (retd) Asim Saleem Bajwa, Chairman, CPEC Authority (The Express Tribune)

Other Daily Briefs

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao