loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Cpecinfo.com

The Mayors of Karachi and Qingdao signing an MoU between the two cities

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao



Zalmay Khalilzad meets Imran Khan in Islamabad; Export of Sports goods decline in the first quarter

PR Daily Brief | D. Suba Chandran

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs an MoU with Qingdao

The Mayors of Karachi and Qingdao signed an MoU towards enhancing cooperation in trade, science and technology, cultural, sports, tourism and other fields.

Zalmay Khalilzad meets Imran Khan in Islamabad

Zalmay Khalilzad returned to Islamabad for the second time in October and had a meeting with Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The meeting took place in the immediate aftermath of a Moscow dialogue between Russia, China, Afghanistan and the US. The four countries met earlier in Moscow to discuss developments in Afghanistan – primarily to discuss the dialogue with the Taliban.

Khalilzad was reported to have met the Taliban leaders in Qatar earlier this month. China is expected to host another meeting facilitating an intra-Afghan dialogue.

The US is looking for a way out in Afghanistan, while Russia and China are looking for a way in to fill up the vacuum. 

Export of Sports goods decline in the first quarter

In the first quarter of this financial year, Pakistan’s export of sports goods declined by 3.87 per cent. During July-September 2019, Pakistan exported sports goods to USD 75.05 million.

Footballs and gloves are two big products within Pakistan’s sports export basket. Though Pakistan exported more footballs, gloves and other times declined during this quarter.

Sialkot in Punjab is the core of Pakistan’s sports goods industry. It produces a variety of sports items – from sportswear to bats (cricket and baseball) and balls (football, volleyball, cricket ball and baseball) and related accessories. According to a data, 400,000 people are engaged with this industry – both directly and indirectly. There are around 3000-4000 small and medium scale industries working on theses. Leading international brands including Adidas and Nike look at Sialkot.

Other Daily Briefs

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao