loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : The Express Tribune

Though the opposition has agreed to sit-in, there has been no consensus on the venue, and resignation from the Parliament. 

5 November 2019, Tuesday

IMF delegation in Pakistan to discuss the second tranche



Azadi March Update: The protests to continue, but PPP and PML-N will stay away

PR Daily Brief | D. Suba Chandran

IMF delegation in Pakistan to discuss the second tranche

A visiting delegation of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) on Monday resumed the dialogue with Pakistan for disbursing of second tranche o $453 million to the latter. In May 2019, both Pakistan and IMF reached an understanding of disbursing $6 billion to Pakistan under the Extended Fund Facility (EFF).
Pakistan is confident of completing the first quarterly review of the IMF, that would lead to the issue of the second tranche in December 2019. Pakistan was expected to undertake reforms on specific sectors (net international reserves, budget deficit, government borrowing from central banks etc) under the agreement with the IMF.

In July 2019, the IMF disbursed $991m.

 

Azadi March Update: The protests to continue, but PPP and PML-N will stay away

 

A meeting of the All Parties Conference (APC) of the opposition parties on Monday decided to continue the protest against the government and agreed to sit-in. Though the meeting was attended by leaders of the smaller parties such as the QWP and PkMAP, the big guns (PPP and PML-N) stayed away.

Though the opposition has agreed to sit-in, there has been no consensus on the venue, and resignation from the Parliament. 

Other Daily Briefs

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao