loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : The News

27 December 2019, Friday

“PM takes Saudi FM into confidence on IOK, anti-Muslim law”: The News



Government seeks the Supreme Court to review its verdict on extending the tenure of Gen Bajwa, Chief of the Army Staff; Lahore High Court gives permission to a PPP at Liaquat Bagh to remember Benazir Bhutto

PR Daily Brief | D. Suba Chandran

27 December, Friday

In the News

Prince Faisal bin Farhan Al Saud, Foreign Minister of Saudi Arabia, was in Pakistan. Dawn reported Prime Minister Imran Khan telling him that "the Muslim population in India was suffering at the hands of extremist Modi government in the worst manner" and highlighting him "in detail the worst situation in the IOK, India's discriminatory Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC)"

Issues in the background

Did the foreign minister of Saudi Arabia visit Pakistan for a day to listen to Imran Khan complaining about India and the situation in J&K?  In a meeting that was attended by Ambassador of Saudi Arabia, Foreign Secretary and the Director-General of the ISI, would India be the primary focus?

Perhaps, that is what the government wanted to feed to the media, and the latter published the same.

Just before the visit of the foreign minister of Saudi Arabia to Pakistan, Imran Khan visited Saudi Arabia a few weeks earlier, on the eve of the summit organized by Malaysia at Kuala Lumpur. Pakistan was to take part in the Malaysian summit, which was led by countries outside Saudi Arabia and its allies in the Muslim World.

Pakistan was pressurized by Saudi Arabia not to take part in the summit; Imran Khan had to cancel Pakistan's participation in the last minute. The fact that he did not send anyone from the foreign ministry or others highlight, where Pakistan stands on the point.

Many within Pakistan criticized Islamabad's position on the summit.

Second, Pakistan would have complained to the visiting foreign minister about what is happening in India. However, unfortunately for Islamabad, there are no takers of Pakistan's position in Riyadh, as India's relations with Saudi Arabia and the rest of the GCC countries are on a solid footing.

While the Malaysian Prime Minister has voiced a strong opinion about India and J&K during the last few weeks, none of the big States from the Middle East have done so. It should be painful for Islamabad to know its allies (if not the masters) are not standing up with Pakistan on India.

The text of the press release, posted below, would highlight where Saudi Arabia stands on India and J&K, and how Pakistan it trying to keep the focus, perhaps for a local audience.

“The Foreign Minister dilated in detail on the situation in Indian Occupied Jammu and Kashmir (IOJ&K) in the aftermath of India’s unilateral and illegal actions of 5 August 2019. He also highlighted the Indian Government’s actions with regard to CAA (Citizenship Amendment Act 2019) and NRC (National Register of Citizens) and the systematic targeting of minorities in India, particularly Muslims. The Foreign Minister thanked the Kingdom’s support in OIC Contact Group on Jammu & Kashmir.

Prince Faisal underscored the importance that Saudi Arabia attaches to its fraternal and strategic relationship with Pakistan. He conveyed the Saudi leadership’s deep appreciation for the role played by Pakistan in maintaining regional peace and stability. Adding that Saudi Arabia was committed to a strong, prosperous and successful Pakistan, he reaffirmed the commitment of Saudi leadership in cementing ties with Pakistan in all fields. The two Foreign Ministers discussed OIC’s role in the advancement of the cause of Kashmir.” Source: http://mofa.gov.pk/foreign-ministers-meeting-with-saudi-foreign-minister-prince-faisal-bin-farhan-al-saud/

 

Also in the News:

Government seeks the Supreme Court to review its verdict on extending the tenure of Gen Bajwa, Chief of the Army Staff

Almost after a month that a three member bench of the Supreme Court gave a verdict on the extension of the tenure of Pakistan’s Chief of Army Staff, the government formally submitted a petition to review the verdict. The original verdict of the Supreme Court said: “The current appointment of General Qamar Javed Bajwa as COAS shall be subject to the said legislation and shall continue for a period of six months from today, whereafter the new legislation shall determine his tenure and other terms and conditions of service.”

Instead of discussing the issue in the Parliament and passing a new legislation, the fact that the government has decided to seek for a review – after a month – highlights the issues involved. It includes whether the political opposition is on the same page and whether the military would like the extension to be discussed in the Parliament.

 

Lahore High Court gives permission to a PPP at Liaquat Bagh to remember Benazir Bhutto

The district administration was directed by a bench of the Lahore High Court to allow the PPP to hold a rally at Liaquat Bagh in Rawalpindi, and also provide necessary facilities and security for the same. Earlier, the local administration refused the PPP to hold the rally, highlighting security threats to Bilawal Bhutto, the leader of the PPP.

Benazir Bhutto was assassinated in the same place, while addressing a public rally in 2007.

 

Who will be arrested next from the PML-N

Following the arrest of Ahsan Iqbal, former interior minister and a strong critic of Imran Khan, the News has published a story on who could be arrested next from the PML-N. According to the newspaper, the “list includes the names of Khawaja Asif, Maryium Aurangzaib, Javed Latif, Rana Tanvir, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Attaullah Tarrar, Uzma Bukhari, Khurram Dastgir and Mohsin Ranjha.”

 

Other Daily Briefs

13 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.105

COAS Gen Bajwa to visit Saudi Arabia soon

12 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.104

Government and opposition agree on six FATF bills

10 August 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.102

The FATF divides within Pakistan

09 August 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.101

Pakistan This Week

08 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.100

National Assembly clears two FATF bills, but blocks one.

07 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.99

Govt decides to lift restrictions as COVID cases decline

06 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.98

Pakistan's continuing Kashmir frenzy

05 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.97

Pakistan's new Map of J&K

04 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.96

Kashmir obsession in Pakistan

31 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.94

Two FATF bills passed in the National Assembly

30 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.93

Religiosity in Pakistan: From Creeping to now Galloping

29 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.92

Opposition parties attempt to come together

28 July 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.91

Pakistan's internal debate on Kulbhushan Jadav

26 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.89

Pakistan This Week

23 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.86

On the abduction of a Journalist in Islamabad

19 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.82

Pakistan This Week

17 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.80

The licences are not fake but only dubious

16 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.79

On building Diamer-Bhasha dam in Gilgit-Baltistan

15 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.78

On Af-Pak Transit Trade

12 July 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No. 75

Pakistan This Week

11 July 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.74

FATF action plan to be completed at the earliest: Shaikh

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao