loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : MQM-P press meeting in Karachi (Dawn)

13 January 2020, Monday

Coalition troubles for the PTI in the National assembly, as an MQM minister resigns



MQM-P wants the PTI to do more for Karachi

PR Daily Brief | D. Suba Chandran

For Immediate Release

13 January 2020, Monday

Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui resigned from the ruling coalition on Sunday. Siddiqui is the convenor of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan holding the position of a federal cabinet minister heading the Ministry of Information Technology and Telecommunication (MoITT). 

Addressing a press conference with other MQM-P leaders in Karachi, he was quoted to have stated: "We are not quitting the [federal] government...we will continue to support it…We hope that [the PTI] will address our grievances by implementing the MoU." According to Dawn, "he did not deem it right to continue to stick with the federal government that had done nothing for the urban areas of Sindh during the past one and a half years."

The MQM is a partner of the ruling PTI coalition at the national level. The party has seven seats in the National Assembly Parliament, and five in the Senate. The support of the MQM is crucial for the PTI, along with a few other smaller parties – PML-Q and BNP from Punjab and Balochistan respectively. 

The PTI has given two ministerial berths to the MQM-P in the National Assembly. While Siddiqui has resigned, the other MQM minister in the federal ministry – Dr Farogh Naseem has not resigned. Naseem heads the Ministry of Law and Justice. Dr Naseem is considered to be closer to the Establishment. He resigned as the minister to represent Gen Bajwa's case in the Supreme Court during November and was reinstated by the PTI government in the same month.

If the MQM-P is unhappy about the relationship with the PTI, all its ministers should have resigned. The fact that one quit, and the other remains to be the minister, should underline the MQM-P's strategy to pressurize the government. Though the stated reason is the failure of the PTI to implement the MoU between the two parties, it is suspected that the MQM-P is looking for one more ministry. 

Second, the MQM-P's primary strength is in Karachi, and it wants to be seen as contributing to the development of the city. The party wants more from the federal government for Karachi, which remains its primary vote bank. 

A few weeks earlier, Bilawal Bhutto gave a public invitation to the MQM-P to resign from the PTI coalition and join the PPP in Sindh. He also promised to accommodate the MQM-P in the provincial cabinet.

Other Daily Briefs

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao