loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

05 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 5

Questions raised on the Government's decision to ease lockdown



Supreme Court directs the Federal Government to form a unified policy; Pakistan accuses India of "whipping up a frenzy over alleged infiltration from Pakistan" and calls for a UN fact-finding probe;

PR Daily Brief | PR Team

In Focus
by Abigail Miriam Fernandez & Lakshmi V Menon

Questions raised on the Government's decision to ease lockdown
The Government's decision to gradually ease the lockdown due to the economic condition has become a concerning matter. 

An editorial in the Dawn is critical of the government move, given the alarming data of the scenario if lockdown is lifted. The decision to ease the restriction comes after the Planning and Development Minister addressed the unfavourable impact that the lockdown is having on the economy, where more than 18 million people could be left unemployed, 70 million people in the country might fall below the poverty line, and over one million small businesses might be forced to shut down due to the pandemic and lockdown. 

Further, the Government has built its case by comparing Pakistan's low death rate to the rest of the world, stating that the coronavirus has not been as fatal in Pakistan.
There are several difficult questions to be answered. How prepared is Pakistan to respond and cope if there is a spike in infection? Should fighting the virus or addressing the economic issue be the priority of the Government now? Although, an extended period of lockdown would leave the economy in a pathetic state, at what cost will the easing down of the restriction come?

Pakistan accuses India of "whipping up a frenzy over alleged infiltration from Pakistan" and calls for a UN fact-finding probe
On 4 May, Major General Babar Iftikhar, the Director-General, Inter-Services Public Relations, speaking to a private news channel, rejected Indian claims of infiltration from their side across LoC into Jammu and Kashmir. He called them as a futile attempt by India to externalize the self-created dire situation in Kashmir and challenged Indian military and political leadership to furnish evidence.

He also said Pakistan was willing to comply to inspections by United Nations to prove Indian claims of terror launch pads and infiltration false. 
The DG blamed the incumbent BJP government's 'saffronization' policies for causing the national unrest in India and alleged that blaming Pakistan as a means to shift global attention from human rights violations in India. The DG argued that infiltration by Pakistan was not possible due to UN Observes monitoring mechanisms, the three-tiered fencing apparatus along LOC and India's constant satellite supervision.

On the other hand, the media also had a field day accusing India. Dawn in its editorial, blamed India, and said that "it is imperative that both states assume a less threatening and more cooperative posture, as the Covid-19 pandemic knows no borders." 


In Brief
By A Padmashree & P Harini Sha

Supreme Court directs the Federal Government to form a unified policy
The apex court headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) has ordered the Government to frame a unified policy to combat the crisis. From its observation, the lack of a coordinated policy by the Federal Government caused the functionaries to disagree. The court also stated that an interim order would be passed if the required steps were not taken by the Government. (Dawn)

Islamabad High Court says that the faith in the criminal justice system in Pakistan would be totally misguided
Chief Justice of Islamabad High Court made a scathing on Pakistan's criminal justice system. On Monday, Dawn quoted him saying: "Notwithstanding and conceding the weaknesses and shortcomings of the judicial branch, it is dependent on the integrity, quality and professionalism of the other most important stakeholder, i.e. the police, the prison authorities and the prosecution." (Dawn)

Tensions surge as Sindh refuses Tiger Forces
Prime Minister's Special advisor Usman Dar accused the Sindh government of refusing the operation of Corona Relief Tiger Force (CRTF) and "politicizing" the involvement of the volunteers without understanding its Terms of Reference. The tensions between the Centre and Sindh government flared up recently for terming the CRTF initiative started by the Prime Minister as a "political gimmick". (Dawn)  


Quote of the day
"We have to open more sectors to mitigate the miseries of poor and daily wage earners by gradually easing restrictions of lockdown."
– Imran Khan (Dawn)

"Whether due to corruption, complacency or sheer incompetence and lack of professionalism, the criminal justice system is definitely not serving its purpose; rather it is perpetuating miscarriages of justice and appears to have become a source of grave injustice."
Chief Justice Athar Minallah, Islamabad High Court (Dawn)

Other Daily Briefs

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao