loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike



Highest COVID Spike; Case against Justice Isa; the Locust Attacks and the IMF advice on economy

PR Daily Brief | PR Team

In Brief

COVID-19
Sindh CM blames the centre for rapid spread of the virus
Syed Murad Ali Shah, Chief Minister of Sindh, blamed the federal government for the rapid spread of Covid-19 across the country. He stated that the rapid spread was because the government failed to check all borders initially when the virus broke out. Mr. Shah also blamed the federal government for their inadequacy in sending out a strong and clear statement regarding SOPs which the people have violated. Further, he urged PM Imran Khan to think for the whole country keeping in view the lives of people. (Syed Irfan Raza, "Murad blames Centre for rapid virus spread," Dawn, 5 June 2020)

Highest single day spike of Covid-19 test 
Highest number of Covid-19 tests conducted were conducted in a single day with the country already surpassed China in terms of the number of Covid-19 affected persons, witnessed nearly 900 new coronavirus cases in the last 24 hours. Data released by the National Command and Control Centre (NCOC) on 4 May showed that 20167 coronavirus tests were conducted on 3 June only. A total of over 610,000 Covid-19 tests have so far been conducted in the country. With the staggering rise of cases, the authorities have started taking action against those violating the SOPs at public places in various parts of the country on the recommendations of the NCOC. (Ikram Junaidi, "Highest number of Covid-19 tests in single day," Dawn, 5 June 2020)

LOCUST ATTACKS
Pakistan, India join forces to fight locusts
On 4 June, the Foreign Office (FO) stated that Pakistan and India are cooperating with each other to tackle the locust attacks under the forum administered by the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO). Further FO Spokesperson said Pakistan "remains committed to cooperating with all SWAC member states, including India, in combating Desert Locust outbreak". Despite tension running high between the two, the locust issue has always been an area of cooperation over the years. ("Pakistan, India working to fight locusts: FO,Dawn, 5 June 2020)

Army to support NLCC in combating locust attack
The Chief of Army staffs assures army support to the nation in battling locust attacks. He said that the army would assist the National Locust Control Centre with all possible resources and civil administration in combating locust attacks while briefing the meeting with the NLCC coordinator in Rawalpindi. He said locust as a threat to national food security and the need to take effective operations to mitigate the negative economic impact of the attack. ("General Qamar Javed Bajwa assures Army's assistance in combating locusts," The News International, 5 June 2020)

INTERNAL
ANP accuses local maliks of South Waziristan for allowing the local Taliban
The Awami National Party have accused the tribal groups in Waziristan for letting the local Taliban to take responsibility to maintain peace in the district. The President stated that the Taliban were a security threat to the region as they were involved earlier in terrorist attacks killing close to 800 leaders and workers. He said that the government has been mute on this issue but the party will file a FIR for the actions of the tribal groups. ("ANP plans legal action against tribal elders of South Waziristan," Dawn, 5 June 2020)

Hindu girls married to Islam men finally reconciled with family
The controversial marriage of two sisters from the Hindu community married to Islam men forcefully was finally reconciled with their family after them reporting in Islamabad High Court that they are taken with their personal concern and happily living with their in-laws. Allegations of teenage girls being abducted by Islam men and forcefully converting their religion by marrying them as second wives have become a serious concern over recent period in Punjab and Sindh. ("Hindu sisters who married Muslim men reconcile with families," The Express Tribune, 5 June 2020)

Police officials report a bomb blast in Bajaur district
The Police reported two casualties due to bomb blast that took place at 5 pm in Damadola locality. The decedents were said to have passed through a dry canal in a motorcycle when the blast took place and when rushed to the hospital by the other people, one of them passed away while being treated. (Anwarullah Khan, "Two die in Bajaur bomb blast," Dawn, 5 June 2020)

Tensions in Supreme Court on Justice Isa Case
In the recent Court hearing of the Justice Qazi, the judge has questioned the complaint raised by the Assets Recovery Unit (ARU) on confirming the accumulation of assets by Qazi. He stated that the approval of reference by the president could have been supported by false legal advice and raised the point that ARU must have handed the issue to the Federal Investigation Agency. The court adjourned by concluding that the accusations placed by the federation against Justice Qazi were weightless. (Justice Faez, "Isa case: Name the man who 'advised' reference, SC asks counsel," The News International, 5 June 5, 2020)

ECONOMY
Pakistan should cut non-development expenditures say IMF
The International Monetary Fund demands Pakistan to freeze all the non-development expenditures including salaries and defence to cut down the primary deficit in the outgoing fiscal year. The IMF staff said Pakistan's debt liabilities had touched rupees 42,840 billion so far which equivalents to 98.2 per cent of GDP hence it needs to bring down the primary deficit from projected negative 2.9 percent in outgoing fiscal to -0.4 percent of GDP in the next budget for 2020-21. ("Freeze non-development expenditure, demands IMF," The News International, 5 June 2020)  

ON INDIA
India is using terrorism as state policy, says Pakistan
Pakistan accuses India of using terrorism as a state policy to destabilize its neighbouring states. Pakistan's Foreign Office said that India has falsified the contents of the UN's eleventh report by the support and sanctions monitoring team and attempting to mislead the international community by slandering Pakistan. FO points out this action as a revelation of India's agenda to create complications in the Afghan peace process. ("India creating complications for the Afghan peace process: FO," The News International, 5 June 2020)

 


"I advised the federal government in March to seal all borders and send people coming from different countries to proper quarantine centres, but it was not accepted which resulted in trajectory of the virus in April...Sindh is not an island but a part of the country. We have to think for the entire country."

- Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah

 

In Focus and In Brief sections are prepared by Lakshmi V Menon, Abigail Miriam Fernandez, A Padmashree and P Harini Sha.

 

Other Daily Briefs

08 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.100

National Assembly clears two FATF bills, but blocks one.

07 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.99

Govt decides to lift restrictions as COVID cases decline

06 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.98

Pakistan's continuing Kashmir frenzy

05 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.97

Pakistan's new Map of J&K

04 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.96

Kashmir obsession in Pakistan

31 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.94

Two FATF bills passed in the National Assembly

30 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.93

Religiosity in Pakistan: From Creeping to now Galloping

29 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.92

Opposition parties attempt to come together

28 July 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.91

Pakistan's internal debate on Kulbhushan Jadav

26 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.89

Pakistan This Week

23 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.86

On the abduction of a Journalist in Islamabad

19 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.82

Pakistan This Week

17 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.80

The licences are not fake but only dubious

16 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.79

On building Diamer-Bhasha dam in Gilgit-Baltistan

15 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.78

On Af-Pak Transit Trade

12 July 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No. 75

Pakistan This Week

11 July 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.74

FATF action plan to be completed at the earliest: Shaikh

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao