loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

16 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.160

PDM's first rally set to take off



The PDM rally that is getting ready in Gujranwala and the attack on security forces in Balochistan.

PR Daily Brief | PR Team

In Focus
PDM's first rally set to take off :
PML-N, PPP and JUI-F promise to turn the Gujranwala rally into a 'big power show'

 

On 16 October as the Opposition initiates its first rally in Gujranwala under the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) banner, vows to turn the Gujranwala rally into a 'big power show.' Further, they accepted Information Minister challenge of filling the Jinnah Stadium in the city with its activists and call for the minister resignation if so. 

Further, with Gujranwala being a stronghold of PML-N has asked its workers and supporters across Punjab to reach the venue while Maulana Fazlur Rehman has also committed to bringing a large number of his followers. Further, PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari is expected to lead PPP workers to the venue as well. (Ali Raza, Mumtaz Alvi, "Opposition confident of Gujranwala power show," The News International, 16 October 2020)

Quotable
PML-N secretary-general stated, "I would like to remind Imran Niazi that he had promised to give the opposition a container for protesting… now he will have to listen — 'Go Imran, go' — from 220 million people of the country for making their lives miserable."

A senior PLM-N leader stated, "we have ensured that Friday's power show is phenomenal as this will decide the fate of the PTI government. All leaders of the opposition are convinced that this rally will set the momentum for ouster of the government."

District administration removes all banners related to Gujranwala rally 
On 15 October, the administration removed all the banners and posters related to the opposition's rally in the provincial capital. The district administration of Gujranwala and Lahore remained on high alert to deal with any untoward situation. Further, the Deputy Commissioner of Gujranwala granted a NOC to the PDM for holding the rally at Jinnah Park and directed the participants of the public meeting to wear face masks and observe social distancing. Further, "As per the notification, the organisers are prohibited to allow the entry of members of banned outfits inside the venue and on stage… (and) their speeches are also not allowed. Slogans and speeches against the state institutions are prohibited." Further, the Punjab police have booked over 400 workers of the PDM, mostly from the PML-N, for reportedly violating the Covid-19 SOPs during corner meetings. On the other hand, the PTI government has placed several containers on the roads. (Zulqernain Tahir, "Stage set for PDM power show in Gujranwala," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

BNP condemns the PDM
On 15 October, a procession led by the Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) activists in Dalbandin condemned the PDM, alleging that some politicians were playing into the hands of enemy forces. Further, BAP district president who led the rally said that corrupt leaders of opposition parties could not cause any harm to the government by holding public demonstrations. (Ali Raza Rind, "BAP holds rally against PDM in Dalbandin," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

Opinions say that more popular unrest can be expected, with more defensive administrative measures to come
An opinion in the Dawn states "More popular unrest can be expected as class and other deprivations intensify. If there is some bark in the anti-establishment bite of our 'real' democrats, they will have to take a stand for the 99 per cent. If not, expect yet more speculative discussions at roadside tea stalls, in middle-class drawing rooms, and government offices about a game of musical chairs with no end in sight." (Aasim Sajjad Akhtar, "For the 99pc," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

An opinion in the Dawn states that the PTI government will resort to defensive administrative measures as a means to minimise the impact of the PDM which could effectively launch the next generation of the Sharif family into politics. In this light, the opinion says that those around PM Khan must help him rationalise as the opposition sets off on this expedition to discover the old martial tribe. The opinion concludes by stating that PM Khan may try to be less confrontational until the battle arrives in Islamabad adding that, his advisers must know that an Imran Khan in his element, his classic aggressive, know-it-all, no-nonsense self, suits the mixed band of Bilawals, Maryams and maulanas out there. (Asha'ar Rehman, "Countdown — to mediation?," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

 
Twenty security personnel killed in two terrorist attacks
BRAS and TTP claim responsibility
Image Source: Dawn

 

Two terrorist attacks, on late 14 and 15 October, in the Ormara area and North Waziristan tribal district of Baluchistan martyred twenty security personnel, including six army men. Seven OGDCL guards were also among victims. On 14 October, two improvised explosive devices blew up army vehicles killing six troops including a Pak Army captain. The following day an armed attack took the lives of seven Frontier Corps personnel and seven civilian guards employed by the Oil and Gas Development Company Limited.

ISPR statement
As per an Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) statement, they were escorting a convoy of the OGDCL staff from Gwadar to Karachi. The statement said that the safe exit of the OGDCL staff was ensured. It added that the terrorists had also incurred substantial losses. As per Dawn, a banned militant organization Baloch Raji Ajoi Sangar (BRAS) and TTP have claimed responsibility for the attack via Twitter.

Quotable
"My deepest condolences & prayers for the 20 security personnel, including 6 army men, martyred in 2 cowardly acts of terrorism yesterday. The entire nation stands behind all our security forces as they continue to lay down their lives for the safety & security of Pakistan," tweeted Imran Khan. Balochistan Chief Minister Jam Kamal Khan and Home Minister Zia Langove also condemned the assault. ("20 security personnel martyred in two attacks," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

 
The TikTok ban in Pakistan 
Islamabad High Court seeks explanation
Image Source: The Express Tribune

 

On 15 October, the IHC sought an explanation from the Pakistan Telecommunication Authority for banning video-sharing application TikTok and alleged abuse of power by the PTA. The petitioner was not against regulating the application but was aggrieved at the prohibition imposed by the PTA t in violation of the provisions of the Prevention of Electronic Crimes Act. The Court observed that the PTA is not empowered to pass an order or take action under Section 37 of Peca. Further, in 2018, the IHC disposed of a petition and observed that the PTA cannot block any website without framing rules. ("Court seeks PTA explanation over TikTok ban," Dawn, 16 October 2020)


In Brief
ECONOMY
Editorial says common man bears the burden of economic crisis 
An editorial in The Express Tribune says the government's economic stabilisation model adopted in 2018 is problematic in the current economic scenario combined with the pandemic. The editorial cites the recent IMF projections which set Pakistan's growth rate at one per cent. While the government's model may help fix the fiscal imbalances in the long run by reducing imports, the common man pays dearly for it. The editorial says for the common man, this step of the government means loss of jobs and additional tax burden on the common man. ("IMF projections," The Express Tribune, 16 October 2020)

Pakistan signs $1,150m accord with World Bank for KP power projects
On 15 October, Imran Khan signed two financing agreements worth $1,150 million with the World Bank. A $450 million KP Hydropower and Renewable Energy Development Project will support the construction of 88MW Gabral-Kalam Hydropower Project and 157MW Madyan Hydropower Project. Similarly, evacuation of power from the Dasu Hydropower (Phase-I) project worth $700m is meant for transmission of power from the 2,160MW from the Dasu project to Islamabad. ("$1,150m accord signed with WB for two KP power projects," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

EXTERNAL
Indian High Commission seeks release of Indian prisoners from Pakistan 
On 15 October, The Indian High Commission on Thurs­day filed a petition in the IHC seeking the release of those Indian citizens who had been convicted of spying by Pakistan's military courts. The petition seeks release of four prisoners who had completed their prison terms. The Court will hear the petition on 16 October (today). ("India approaches IHC for spies' release on jail terms completion," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

ON INDIA
Pakistan tells India to create an environment for resuming talks
On 15 October, Pakistani Foreign Office responded to India's offer to resume talks. The FO spokesperson said India should cease its "illegal and unilateral actions, end state-terrorism against Kashmiri people, and agree to resolve the Jammu & Kashmir dispute in accordance with relevant UNSC resolutions and wishes of Kashmiris." He said Pakistan strongly condemned the "malicious Indian propaganda against the longstanding and close Pakistan-China friendship." Meanwhile, Foreign Office summoned an Indian diplomat to register Pakistan's protest over the "ceasefire violations by Indian occupation forces along the LoC on 14 October. ("India told to create enabling environment for talks resumption," Dawn, 16 October 2020)

PAKISTAN'S WORLD VIEW
Opinion column on the uncertainty of Afghanistan's political future
An opinion column in The Express Tribune says the recent US airstrikes against the Taliban is complicating the US exit from the region. However, it is unlikely that the US will increase military power in the region. The author says the political future of Afghanistan remains uncertain but it is likely that the Taliban will assume a dominant position while Ashraf Ghani will certainly need to give up significant amounts of power. He says the Taliban cannot go back to their old ways as they would not want to be isolated by the West. He hopes that the new constitutional setup will allow for equitable resolution of differences between various competing groups through adequate devolution of power. ("The political future of Afghanistan," The Express Tribune, 15 October 2020)

 

 


"I left at 2 pm and I haven’t still been able to cross Shahdra Lahore. There is an ocean of people front, back, right & left. This is unprecedented.”

 Maryam Nawaz Sharif on her way to Gujranwala.

Other Daily Briefs

26 October 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.168

PDM's strong rally in Quetta

24 October 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.167

Do More, says the FATF to Pakistan

23 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.166

Pakistan's Gender Gap

22 October 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.165

The "Karachi incident" spirals

21 October 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.164

"Who surrounded Sindh Police Chief's house," asks Bilawal Bhutto

20 October 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.163

FM Qureshi meets with Hekmatyar

19 October 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.162

PDM's second big rally in Karachi

17 October 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.161

PDM's first rally takes off to a great start in Gujranwala

16 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.160

PDM's first rally set to take off

15 October 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.159

Pakistan's pre-conditions for a dialogue with India

14 October 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.158

Pakistan re-elected to the UNHRC

13 October 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.157

Pakistan and the FATF's Grey List

12 October 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.156

Maulana Adil Khan laid to rest in Karachi

09 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.154

Khalilzad in Pakistan to discuss Afghan peace

08 October 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.153

Pakistan to experience muted economic recovery

07 October 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.152

20-point 'code of conduct' to promote sectarian harmony

06 October 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.151

A five-year development programme for the Gilgit- Baltistan

05 October 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.150

The next FATF meeting on Pakistan

02 October 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.148

Targeting Nawaz Sharif and the PML-N

01 October 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.147

On Pakistan Democratic Movement's rally:

30 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.146

PM Imran Khan wants to bring back Nawaz Sharif at the earliest:

29 September 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.145

Shahbaz Sharif's arrest causes an upheavel:

28 September 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.144

Abdullah Abdullah in Pakistan for a three days visit:

25 September 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.142

The Fallouts of the All Parties Conference:

24 September 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.141

Establishment and the PML-N:

23 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.140

For the US, the priority in Pakistan is to advance human rights :

22 September 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.139

One day after the All Parties Conference:

21 September 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.138

Nawaz Sharif goes on an offensive and talks about

19 September 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.137

Kashmir will be the focus of PM Khan’s UN address, says FO

18 September 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.136

Pakistan’s Persisting Polio Problem:

17 September 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.135

The need for a twin strategy in south Balochistan:

16 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.134

A non-bailable arrest warrant for Nawaz Sharif:

15 September 2020, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.133

The CPEC march continues:

11 September 2020, Friday I Vol 1, No.130

Pakistan and the SCO

10 September 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.129

Accountability Court declares Nawaz Sharif as an absconder

09 September 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.128

Federal-Provincial divide over Karachi increases

07 September 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.126

On Karachi, PPP and PTI divide comes to open

05 September 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.125

Kashmir in the UN and Pakistan

02 September, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.122

Court directs Nawaz Sharif to appear before the court

01 September, Tuesday I Vol 1, No.121

Rains and Floods continue to haunt Pakistan

27 August 2020, Thursday I Vol 1, No.117

An article speculates the Opposition’s options and strategies

26 August 2020, Wednesday I Vol 1, No.116

"General Bajwa stabilized Pak-Saudi ties"

24 August 2020, Monday I Vol 1, No.114

Pakistan, China and J&K

22 August 2020, Saturday I Vol 1, No.113

Pakistan and China pledge to safeguard common interests

20 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.111

The tragedy of Scientists from Pakistan's minority communities

19 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.110

"Pakistan can never recognise Israel," says Imran Khan

18 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.109

PTI's two-year report card

15 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.107

Pakistan's Palestine Dilemma

14 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.106

Pakistan at 73: Celebrating the Independence Day

13 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.105

COAS Gen Bajwa to visit Saudi Arabia soon

12 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.104

Government and opposition agree on six FATF bills

10 August 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.102

The FATF divides within Pakistan

09 August 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.101

Pakistan This Week

08 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.100

National Assembly clears two FATF bills, but blocks one.

07 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.99

Govt decides to lift restrictions as COVID cases decline

06 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.98

Pakistan's continuing Kashmir frenzy

05 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.97

Pakistan's new Map of J&K

04 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.96

Kashmir obsession in Pakistan

31 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.94

Two FATF bills passed in the National Assembly

30 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.93

Religiosity in Pakistan: From Creeping to now Galloping

29 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.92

Opposition parties attempt to come together

28 July 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.91

Pakistan's internal debate on Kulbhushan Jadav

26 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.89

Pakistan This Week

23 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.86

On the abduction of a Journalist in Islamabad

19 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.82

Pakistan This Week

17 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.80

The licences are not fake but only dubious

16 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.79

On building Diamer-Bhasha dam in Gilgit-Baltistan

15 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.78

On Af-Pak Transit Trade

12 July 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No. 75

Pakistan This Week

11 July 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.74

FATF action plan to be completed at the earliest: Shaikh

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao