loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

Hammad Azhar, Pakistan's Minister for Economic Affairs addressing on action taken relating to terror financing

24 October 2019, Thursday

More than 700 terror finance cases are nearing conviction, says the government



Imran Khan agrees to allow the Azadi march by Fazlur Rahman; Fazlur Rahman meets the Chief of Army Staff; Imran Khan says army is behind him

PR Daily Brief | D. Suba Chandran

24 October 2019, Thursday

More than 700 terror finance cases are nearing conviction, says the government

The pressure from the FATF seems to be working. Hammad Azhar, the Minis­ter for Economic Affairs, on Wednesday announced that more than 700 terror financing cases that were initiated six months earlier are nearing conviction. He also stated that the cases are now with an independent judiciary, hinting that it is now with the latter.
There was a predominant expectation early this month, that Pakistan would be removed from the grey list by the FATF. While the FATF did not move Pakistan into blacklist, the former also did not remove the latter from the list altogether. Instead, the FATF has given some more time for Pakistan to take decisive action.

 

Insufficient action against terror financing has been one of the main problem area for the FATF to consider Pakistan’s case. Though the minister alluded to prosecution and conviction as the domain of the courts, there is a serious issue with the prosecution and also the capacity of the investigating agencies. Foolproof legal provisions to prosecute have been another issue. Without adequate legal mechanisms, the investigating agencies would find it difficult to build a case; and without a proper investigation, the courts will find it difficult to convict.

Pakistan will have to take adequate measures not only legally but also build capacity amongst the investigation agencies to build a case. The minister was also quoted stating on another important issue: “We are working on improving further inter-agency coordination to improve compliance.”

 

Imran Khan agrees to allow the Azadi march by Fazlur Rahman

Islamabad will witness the Azadi march of Fazlur Rahman, as the Prime Minister has agreed to allow the protesters to enter the capital. According to an official note from the Prime Minister’s Office: “It has been decided that the government with its firm belief in upholding democratic ideals will allow the proposed Azadi March if it takes place within the ambit of law and the Constitution as interpreted in the decisions of the Supreme Court of Pakistan and Islamabad High Court.”

 

However, Imran Khan has refused to accept the primary demand of the Azadi march: his resignation. He was quoted to have said: “I am a constitutionally elected prime minister and I will not resign…I am unable to comprehend their (opposition’s) insistence on minus-Imran [formula].” (Dawn, 24 October 2019)

Strangely, the Prime Minister also announced that he has not asked for the media from covering the Azadi march, or discussing about Fazlur Rahman in the electronic media.

If the government has not issued an instruction, who then has asked the electronic media from not covering Fazlur Rahman and the Azadi march?

 

Fazlur Rahman meets the Chief of Army Staff; Imran Khan says army is behind him

According to a report in The News, Fazlur Rahman met with Pakistan’s Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa and discussed the Azadi March. According to the report, the COAS informed about the regional security situation along the border on both sides of Pakistan. Apparently, the Army Chief also informed about the economic situation of the country, and also ruled out the idea of “minus-Imran” formula. (The News, 24 October 2019)

 

Separately, Imran Khan announced that the army is behind him and he is not willing to accept the demand of Fazlur Rahman.

If the above reports in the media is true, it is apparent that the Establishment is behind Imran Khan. Will Fazlur Rahman go against it?

Other Daily Briefs

14 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.106

Pakistan at 73: Celebrating the Independence Day

13 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.105

COAS Gen Bajwa to visit Saudi Arabia soon

12 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.104

Government and opposition agree on six FATF bills

10 August 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.102

The FATF divides within Pakistan

09 August 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.101

Pakistan This Week

08 August 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.100

National Assembly clears two FATF bills, but blocks one.

07 August 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.99

Govt decides to lift restrictions as COVID cases decline

06 August 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.98

Pakistan's continuing Kashmir frenzy

05 August 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.97

Pakistan's new Map of J&K

04 August 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.96

Kashmir obsession in Pakistan

31 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.94

Two FATF bills passed in the National Assembly

30 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.93

Religiosity in Pakistan: From Creeping to now Galloping

29 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.92

Opposition parties attempt to come together

28 July 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.91

Pakistan's internal debate on Kulbhushan Jadav

26 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.89

Pakistan This Week

23 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.86

On the abduction of a Journalist in Islamabad

19 July 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.82

Pakistan This Week

17 July 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.80

The licences are not fake but only dubious

16 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.79

On building Diamer-Bhasha dam in Gilgit-Baltistan

15 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.78

On Af-Pak Transit Trade

12 July 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No. 75

Pakistan This Week

11 July 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.74

FATF action plan to be completed at the earliest: Shaikh

08 July 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.71

Return of Lal Masjid Maulana

07 July 2020, Tuesday , Vol 1, No.70

Female Literacy in the Pashtun tribal regions

06 July 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.69

The problem with Pakistan Railways

02 July 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.65

The Curious case of "Minus One" Formula in Pakistan

30 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.63

BLA claims the attack on Stock Exchange in Karachi

28 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.61

Pakistan This Week

27 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.60

PTM accepts the dialogue offer, but wants CBMs

24 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.57

Reviewing Pakistan's Space Programme

23 June 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No.56

Imran Khan says he was against the idea of lockdown

21 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.54

Pakistan This Week

20 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.53

Budgets presented in KP, and in Gilgit-Baltistan

19 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.52

PTI tries to get the BNP back into coalition,

18 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.51

Baloch partner of the PTI government leaves the coalition

15 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.48

The PTI government invites the PTM for a dialogue

14 June 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.47

Pakistan This Week

13 June 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No.46, Special Brief

Pakistan Budget 2020-21: The First Cut

12 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.44, Special Brief

Pakistan’s Economic Survey 2019-20

07 June 2020, Sunday I Vol 1, No.38

Pakistan This Week

05 June 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.36

Highest COVID Spike

04 June 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.35

Imran receives a briefing at the ISI HQ

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao