loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

27 October 2019, Sunday

Ailing Nawaz Sharif gets bail, as the government refuses to take responsibility for his health



Government and Opposition reach a deal on Azadi march; JUI-F files against banning on Ansarul Islam

PR Daily Brief | D. Suba Chandran

27 October 2019, Sunday 


Ailing Nawaz Sharif gets bail, as the government refuses to take responsibility for his health

 

The Chairman of the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) did not oppose Nawaz Sharif’s bail on humanitarian grounds. Following a Court order that the government would be held responsible for his health, the latter did not want to do the same. As a result, Nawaz Sharif was granted bail and released from the Central Jail Lahore.

Nawaz Sharif who is facing multiple cases of corruption pursued by the NAB, has been facing poor health. His brother Shabaz Sharif has asked for Nawaz’s release on the same. The Islamabad High Court has directed the government authorities that “if they oppose this petition and grant of interim bail, then they are directed to file their respective affidavits by undertaking that they will take responsibility for the well-being (of Nawaz Sharif)…In such an eventuality, they will be jointly and severally responsible in case of further deterioration of the applicant’s (Nawaz’s) condition,” the IHC order added.

In February 2019, a similar petition seeking Nawaz Sharif’s release on health ground was dismissed and stated that the authorities should take care of the health conditions of its prisoners.

 

Government and Opposition reach a deal on Azadi march

On the eve of Azadi march, the government and the JUI-F reached an agreement, primarily on the venue of meeting in Islamabad. The Azadi march is scheduled to start on 28 October from different parts of Pakistan and reach Islamabad.

The agreement between the government and the JUI-F was on where the marchers would assemble and hold their meeting. JUI-F had wanted to hold in the D-Chowk in Islamabad, but finally agreed to hold in another sector – H9 near the Peshawar Morr. According to a new report, the seven-point agreement was signed between Islamabad’s deputy commissioner and the Secretary General of JUI-F’s Islamabad chapter. (Dawn, 27 October 2019). 

Most importantly, the marchers have agreed not to enter Islamabad’s Red Zone that contains Pakistan’s Parliament, Supreme Court, Secretariat and the Diplomatic Enclave.

In return, the government has agreed not to create hurdles to the marchers and affect their supply chain.

 

Meanwhile, JUI-F files against banning on Ansarul Islam

The JUI-F has filed a case challenging the government’s decision to ban its group – the Ansarul Islam.

A few days earlier, the government banned the Ansarul Islam fearing that the uniformed and stick wielding organization of the JUI-F would become a potent force during the Azadi march.

Other Daily Briefs

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao