loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

Azadi march before entering Islamabad

01 November 2019, Friday

Fazlur Rahman’s Azadi march reaches Islamabad



Press Release from Ministry of Foreign Affairs rejects changes within J&K

PR Daily Brief |

01 November 2019, Friday

Press Release from Ministry of Foreign Affairs rejects changes within J&K

In its latest press release, Pakistan has called India's administrative moves in J&K as "changing of status quo" in complete violation of the UN Security Council Resolutions and Bilateral Agreements between India and Pakistan, especially the Simla Agreement.

According to the Press release, "the Indian occupied Jammu & Kashmir is an internationally recognized disputed territory. No step by the government of India can change this. These changes are illegal and void as per the relevant UNSC Resolutions, and do not prejudice the right to self-determination of the people of Occupied Jammu & Kashmir...

The illegal and unilateral changes effected by India are in no way an “internal matter” as the Jammu and Kashmir dispute remains on the agenda of the Security Council. Furthermore, contrary to the false projection by the Indian authorities, the purpose of these illegal changes in Indian occupied Jammu and Kashmir is neither development of the region nor welfare of the Kashmiri people. The real motive is to alter the demographic structure of the Muslim majority state in pursuance of the extremist “Hindutva” ideology. The international community must take notice that transfer of civilian population from outside into IOJ&K is in grave violation of the international laws particularly the Fourth Geneva Convention."

The press release also hints at what Pakistan would do. It states, "Pakistan would continue to extend its full moral, political and diplomatic support to the suffering Kashmiri brothers and sisters until the realization of the inalienable right to self-determination, in accordance with UN Security Council resolutions."

Fazlur Rahman’s Azadi march reaches Islamabad

On Thursday, 31 October 2019, Fazlur Rahman’s Azadi marchers reached Islamabad. The started in Karachi four days earlier. Another group from Peshawar led by Awami National Party (ANP) and its President Asfandyar Wali Khan also reached Islamabad.

The primary demand of the marchers is the resignation of Imran Khan. Fazlur Rahman addressed a large gathering. Besides ANP’s Asfandyar Wali, leaders of PML-N (Ahsan Iqbal and Khawaja Asif) and Qaumi Watan Party (Aftab Sherpao) were also with Fazlur Rahman.

A few days earlier, there was an agreement between the government and the Azadi marchers on the venue, and the areas that would be off bound for the latter.

PML-N Shabaz Sharif and PPP’s Bilawal Bhutto are likely to join the gathering on Friday.
 

Other Daily Briefs

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao