loader

Daily Briefs


Photo : Dawn

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab



Imran Khan meets Punjab’s Chief Minister and assures his support

PR Daily Brief | D. Suba Chandran

What happened?
Imran Khan visited Lahore, the provincial capital of Punjab and had one-to-one discussions with, Usman Buzdar, the Chief Minister of Punjab, and also met with PTI members of the provincial assembly and the national assembly. Imran Khan was quoted saying: “a comprehensive and effective mechanism be developed for better liaison among elected representatives and civil bureaucracy” and “the chief secretary and IG Police should work as team members of CM Buzdar.” (Dawn, 27 January 2020)

What is the background?
Trouble was brewing within Punjab for the ruling PTI government, during the recent months. There were three aspects to the trouble. First was the trouble within the PTI; not everything has been smooth for the PTI in Punjab – both within the provincial assembly and outside it. Though Usman Buzdar was handpicked by Imran Khan, he has been considered as a weak candidate for the post. Many suspect, that it was his weakness that factored in Imran Khan choosing him to lead Punjab so that he would have a yes man in Lahore ruling Punjab. Many within the party in the province, believe they have a better chance and credential to lead Punjab on behalf of the party.

The second aspect is related to the relationship between the civilian bureaucracy and political leadership. The civilian bureaucracy in Punjab, the PTI leaders in Punjab complain that it acts on its own and does not listen to the political leadership at the provincial and constituency levels. It was this difference that has prompted Imran Khan to warn that there has to be a “better liaison among elected representatives and civil bureaucracy.”

The third aspect of Imran Khan’s meeting with Buzdar is related to the trouble within the ruling coalition in Punjab. The PML-Q led by the Chaudhry brothers have been upset with the PTI within Punjab. The party’s electoral strength is not significant; it has three seats in the national Parliament, and ten seats in the provincial assembly of Punjab. However, the PML-Q’s support is crucial for the PTI – both at the national assembly and in Punjab. Besides, the PTI also has a problem with its other partner – MQM-P from Sindh. 

One of the primary complaints of the PML-Q is related to the above second aspect in terms of postings and transfers relating to civilian bureaucracy in those constituencies where PML-Q has a base.

Will Imran’s visit resolve the above three issues, or will only act as a band-aid? 

Other Daily Briefs

03 June 2020, Wednesday, Vol 1, No.34

Covid cases spike and Lahore becomes the epicentre

01 June 2020, Monday, Vol 1, No.32

Drivers of Karachi Violence

30 May 2020, Saturday, No 1, No.30

Gwadar port ready for the Afghan goods

29 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.29

Pakistan remembers 28 May Nuclear Tests

24 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No.24

Pakistan This Week

22 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.22

The missing girls of Pakistan

21 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No.21

Locusts threaten Pakistan's food security

17 May 2020, Sunday, Vol 1, No 17

Pakistan This Week

15 May 2020, Friday, Vol 1, No.15

Disregard for SOPs peaks Covid-19 cases

14 May 2020, Thursday, Vol 1, No 14

Violence in Afghanistan and the Media in Pakistan

12 May 2020, Tuesday, Vol 1, No 12

Smart Lockdown, SOPs vs Social Realities

9 May 2020, Saturday, Vol 1, No 9

Record COVID-19 spike in a single day;

6 April 2020, Monday

Punjab: Surge in Covid-19 cases

2 April 2020, Thursday

Centre extends lockdown to 14th April

25 March 2020, Sunday 

Multiparty conference blames Imran Khan

24 March 2020, Tuesday 

Curfew last option: Imran Khan

21 March 2020, Saturday

Pakistan fights CoronaVirus

5 March 2020, Thursday

26.5 per cent drop in trade deficit

27 January 2020, Monday 

PTI's Punjab problem

27 January 2020, Monday 

For the PTI, all is not well inside Punjab

25 January 2020, Saturday

Pakistan successfully tests Ghaznavi 

16 January 2020, Thursday

PTI's coalition conundrum enlarges

25 November 2019, Wednesday

Terrorism declines in Balochistan during 2019

07 November 2019, Thursday

Azadi march and sit-in

04 November 2019, Monday

Pakistan rejects India's new J&K map

29 October 2019, Tuesday 

Karachi signs a MoU with Qingdao